UNC Charlotte, NC State Researchers Receive UNC Board of Governors’ Highest Faculty Honor


Pinku Mukherjee, Irwin Belk Endowed Professor of Cancer Research at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, and Behnam Pourdeyhimi, Klopman Distinguished Professor of Textile Materials at North Carolina State University, are the 2015 recipients of the O. Max Gardner Award — the highest faculty honor given by the Board of Governors of the 17-campus University of North Carolina.

The award, established by the will of NC Governor O. Max Gardner, recognizes faculty who have “made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.” It is the only award for which all faculty members on the 17 UNC campuses are eligible. The 2015 award carries a $20,000 cash prize and was presented today (April 10) by UNC President Tom Ross and Board Vice Chairman Lou Bissette.

Read Article